Big First Steps

Funniest_Memes_which-animal-has-inspired-your-success_1890 (1)

Here I come third year…


 

Oh wow! I have had the most hectic and tremendous week and I must apologise for my lack of presence here recently. This first week of third year has been rather overwhelming to say the least.

So I told you about the big scary “sort out what you want to do with the rest of your life” talk with uni right? Well I came up with a few ideas, mainly I want to do an extremely prestigious directing course in Bristol that begins in the spring of 2016 and if not that, if I manage to pull off a First class degree with Huddersfield I will gain a scholarship for a masters researching whatever I please. That’s a stepping stone to the future I think I can manage at the moment and I’m quite proud of finding these little courses almost from nowhere. I now have an abundance of prospectus guides and more idea of what to do next than I did this time last week…so I feel productive. Well, they were productive if I’m good enough to achieve either of them.

My start to the first week back began with a strenuous and muscle murdering 3 hour practical session of physical theatre for our full cast production of Cinderella. Which, on Tuesday morning, left me in a ball on my bedroom floor, crying in excruciating pain. Maybe I need to get a little fitter if I’m going to survive this year! Then after that, I had the pleasure of a quick change act in a tiny toilet cubicle in order to get ready for my shift at work that began 10 minutes later. Sweaty and dishevelled, I dashed to my job to do a 6 hour shift then ran back to uni to pitch my Final Year Project.

Me and Joe (friend, uni partner, ex work buddy) pitched our ideas and it seemed to go down well, apart from the fact it was apparent we lost the commitment of people who had previously shown interest. No bad blood though. We did however gain two of my housemates as possible cast candidates and that’s left us pretty raring to go. However I’m still stuck with the idea of doing a two person piece so we can really focus down on our own areas of interest but working with more people brings more concepts and creativity and it’s almost always a positive way to work.

On the Tuesday I enjoyed a proper day off, I even ordered my monthly food shop (that’s as best as you can hope for as a student) online and just lazed about in bed for the day. It was glorious. And on Wednesday morning it felt like Christmas as the magical man from Tesco delivered me an abundance of yummy goodness. It really is the small things sometimes.

More practical sessions happened, lectures reminded me that losing the will to live was the easiest of games to lose and I worked a whole ton more. But good things really do come to those who wait. I’m directing Cinderella and with that I get to write the whole concept for our performance, I get to be a visual eye for the entirety of the piece and this excites me beyond anything. I get to shape a brilliant work of creativity and get to see it unfold before my eyes and it truly is a thrilling experience.

It makes me feel quite sad because when I think about it, this will be the last time I get to work with some people I’ve spent a whole 3 years with and with every end of each comes the melancholy feelings. But we still have now and we have the opportunity to go out with a bang!

Also I got a pay rise, started a writing class, saw the unveiling and reading of a beautiful poem that is painted on the university and I am pretty settled in a lot of my choices. After a summer of torment and horrendous attitudes, I am happy to have found calm for the first time in forever.

I can only hope these good vibes continue somewhat, at least to get me through the Christmas period. I mean I’m sat writing this in the freezing cold that is England in October, waiting to get a train I should have caught an hour and a half ago…and I’m still happy.

This is a change.

Demi Nicole

X x x

P.s In regards to the daily prompt, I don’t prepare, I just go with it and see what happens.

347 days to go

Leave a Reply

